Mary Karr on 20/20

May 2, 2010

Photo: 20/20 via Mary Karr

What was I–a 21-year-old college student–doing this past Friday night?

I wish I could say I was out partying with friends or hanging out with my boyfriend, but no; instead, I was laying in bed at 10 pm and watching 20/20 (really).

I was flipping through the different channels when I got to ABC and saw that 20/20 was doing a special on moms who are secretly alcoholics–I was hooked. Probably for the same reason I love to read memoir, I also love television shows like Intervention, Dateline, Dr. Phil and 20/20.

While I enjoyed the 20/20 special, the reason I’m sharing it here is because one of the woman they interviewed was memoirist Mary Karr. Karr’s latest memoir, “Lit,” focuses on her time as an alcoholic and her recovery from her addiction. For anyone interested in Karr, definitely check out the episode on 20/20’s Web site and an article about Karr’s interview.

One Response to “Mary Karr on 20/20”

  1. Shirley Says:

    Hi, mysterious new blogger. I found you because one of your readers found me. So honored to be listed on your blogroll! And, as you may know, I too am a great fan of Mary Karr’s and wrote about meeting her in person. I love what you are doing here, and I’ll be back!

    Shirley


Leave a comment